When Interfering Is Not Interfering

Posted by

I don’t like the official volleyball rules on defining interference. Let me rephrase that. The rules are fine and clear. But the interpretations and cases that referees are required to follow, mean ‘interference’ has only one very tiny definition and beyond that anything goes. For example, you can legally touch an opponent to try to get them to commit a fault. That happens so rarely that noone knows the rule and when it happens people forget about it very fast. The one that happens often that, that people forget about fast, is general centreline penetration. I have already written about it here. Basically unless the player is actively playing the ball, you can come under the net and distract them or make them move away from their position, both of which give you an unfair advantage. Sometimes two players can come under the net, and it is still not a fault.

In photo 1, the white team player is under the net. In photo 2, the white team libero is under the net with the attacker forced to retreat to the 3m line. In photo 3, the attacker takes the risk to jump with an opponent somewhere under his feet. If he had landed on him, it still wouldn’t have been a fault. Click on the photos to see them full size. And scroll down for the video.

Click for more Volleyball Rules

The total of 82 practical Coaching Tips can be found here and here.

Read about the great new Vyacheslav Platonov coaching book here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s